Bits and Pieces…

July 16, 2012

Years ago when I was as nursing student during my psych clinicals, I heard a story about a schizophrenic man who claimed he lost his body parts and would periodically have to go and retrieve them.  He would be sitting, quite ordinarily, and say something like, “oops…there goes my liver…did you see it?  Guess I’ll have to go and get it…”  This would go on for some time until he had lost a sufficient amount of bits he had to collect.  Where he went on these journeys is anyone’s guess, but he spent weeks at a time becoming ‘whole’ once again.

I’ve been thinking about this patient today, for I wonder if it isn’t somewhat true that we need to go and collect the bits and pieces of ourselves left behind, willy-nilly, throughout the years.  Metaphorically speaking, of course.

Without going on a huge diatribe of all the stops I would make if I could go back and retrieve bits of myself; I can easily say I would start in second grade and pick up my humiliated heart off the floor and give the teacher a swift kick on the way out the door.  I would then stop off in high school and gather *all* the personal space and boundaries that were trodden by the likes of one instructor in particular.  Nor would I hesitate to give this jerk a punch in the mouth, either.  I’m sure there would be ‘relationship stops’, and ‘family dynamic’ stops, but I think you get my point.

Geez…  The list is endless.  I suspect we all have such lists.  No one is exempt from the bites and stings of life, yet I think this may be an interesting notion:  what if we can/could go back and get the pieces left behind?  Metaphorically speaking, of course.  Even if it is imaginary, much like the patient who ‘lost’ his liver … what if it makes you feel better to visualize the retrieval, the rescue?  What if it makes you feel more whole??

Maybe it is worth the trip…

Leave a Reply

