The road traveled…

March 23, 2012

When I went back to school in my 30’s to study art… it didn’t seem so crazy.  When I went back to school at 47 to study hair design, it seemed kind of whacky, but bold and courageous, indeed.  I was starting over, yet again!  How cool was that?

Most days, I am really just fine with the notion that I have a lot to learn, and so I keep learning and trying and getting better.  Some days, like yesterday, all I see is the distance in front of me, not so much as a beckoning force, but more like a daunting task.  I’m tired, I guess.  I’m almost 50, and some days… as I felt yesterday, I would rather be old and wise and accomplished.  I would like to be the one that others come to for advice on how to proceed, not the one always having to ask about how best to proceed.  Yes, I have a wide range of experiences and a passel of knowledge about a ton of things, but some days, I just wish I hadn’t set the bar so high at this stage of the game.

None of this is to say, however, that I don’t like what I do… for I do.  Some days… it’s just a lot.

One Response to “The road traveled…”

  1. It seems to me that the only condition in which one can find themselves no longer in need of advice is that of not living. Offer what you can and accept what helps you along…

Leave a Reply

