“Build it and they will come…”

July 29, 2010

Remember that movie, “Field of Dreams”??  I do.  I thought it was kind of dorky but sweet, and now I keep thinking about the relevance of the symbolism in that movie as it pertains to my current life situation(s).

“The main goal of this movie was to let people know to go for their dreams, even if they are way out there.”

Having faith and proceeding thusly.  In essence, seeing the end you desire, and letting the means roll out naturally in order to get where you want to go, however ‘out there” it may seem…

Perhaps this notion is kind of like, “The Secret”, but less hokey, for it’s about much more than just acquiring money or things.  I know what I want.  I’ve put it “out there”, and now I just need to get out of my own way and pay attention along the way so I don’t miss the signs on how to get where I want to be.

Lee and I recently had an opportunity to spend time with our friend, Amy, on a drive back from St. Louis.  We talked quite a bit about this theme, and though we come from different backgrounds (she is Catholic vs. our more esoteric bent), our belief in knowing that one can have dreams come true through magic, faith and trusting in the end result, were remarkably similar.  She is proof positive of this in her career success with Silpada, and practices what she preaches, indeed!  ~kudos, dear friend…  🙂 ~

I want to have my own salon some day where I can interact with groovy people while cutting hair, and share my artwork and my faces.  I see it so clearly, and I can’t wait to see how the journey unfolds as I make my way towards this dream.

The old Alison would be concerned with all the details on how to get “there”, and would fret incessantly about whether or not it would all work out.  This newer version of me is much more willing (most days!) to trust that the path will present itself as is required, and I’ll just keep on following it.  Starting school in September and having all those details fall into place, both literally and figuratively, is just the first step.

I believe.  I have faith for probably the first time in my life, and I’m on my way…

One Response to ““Build it and they will come…””

  1. I love your dream and your vigilance. Thanks. Though, I would never have called Field of Dreams a dorky movie!

Leave a Reply

