Rave Reviews…

July 8, 2010

I’m always a bit confounded by customer reviews.  Whether it’s a stereo, a vacuum cleaner, a hair product, or a hair styling school, there is usually such a range of extreme comments, that I find it difficult to see them as helpful whatsoever.

Perhaps Hugh McLeod is right?  “Ignore Everybody”.  I’ve mentioned his book before in these blogs, and I’m really starting to think he is right.  He says you are better off to just keep on keeping on and not take others’ opinions too much to heart, for they will distract and confuse you and blur your focus.

I read some reviews of the hair design school I’m thinking about attending, and one stated that it was a ‘non-professional environment’, yet she couldn’t spell “professional”, and appeared to be upset that the students all passed the state boards with high grades.

Another one said that they had to ‘work in the spa all the time cutting hair, and didn’t get more than 2 hours of class time a day’…  Hmmm.  Wouldn’t it be helpful to get as much hands on experience (literally!) as possible ?

And yet another review was positive and said that the ‘instructors went out of their way for the students’.

She gave it 5 stars.

I’m older than a lot of those girls (and some guys) who are students at this design school, and I have worked in a variety of jobs throughout my adult life.  Maybe the real difference for me will be that I know what I want, and I will get as much out of the experience as I can.  When I went back to school in my 30’s to get the fine arts major, I was in the studio *all* the time.  I loved it.  I was a fiend and I created a lot of work.  But, I was also older and focused.

My best bet appears to be ready to glean as much as possible from the experience, and keep an open mind as to how I might most effectively get what I need…

I’ll be sure to give my review in about 12 months…  🙂

Leave a Reply

