Leonard Cohen

June 17, 2010

So, I went to the library yesterday to get some books…(yay, actually have time to read AND do some art), and while I was there I dropped off an application for part-time work, thinking…this would probably be a decent environment for some extra dosh.  We’ll see…

Opened the new book I borrowed to read, and ran across this quote by Leonard Cohen:

“There is a crack, a crack in everything.  It’s how the light gets in”

Wonderful.

Not long after the library outing, I ended up in a long overdue, and delightful conversation with my dear friend, Patty Lou, and lo and behold…she mentioned Leonard Cohen and referenced something she had read of his that day as well.  Coincidence?  Perhaps, yet I prefer to think it’s a sign of sorts to pay attention to his words.  I think I shall…

Leonard is cool.  What a songwriter and artist, he is…

I started thinking about the lyrics of one of my favorite songs of his, “Bird on a Wire”; and these lines came to mind:

“I saw a beggar leaning on his wooden crutch,

he said to me, “You must not ask for so much.”

And a pretty woman leaning in her darkened door,

she cried to me, “Hey, why not ask for more?”

So, Leonard.  Groovy man with some groovy words, yes… but what was I supposed to be hearing?  I wanted to pay attention just in case this was more than a coincidence. After I stopped thinking about it so much, this is what I got:  Perspective.  It’s all about perspective.  Keep an open mind and greet experiences from a place of neutrality so that your perspective can be unfettered by preconceived notions (be they positive or negative).  There, in that space…might you be the clearest channel for the Moment.

I know…maybe I’m nutty, but that’s what I got…

Oh, and…always remember that sometimes the cracks are there for a reason.

Leave a Reply

