Child art??

June 14, 2010

I’m not a mom.  I’m a stepmom, but I think that is different from being a biological mom.  I’m pretty sure it just has to be different given the nature of giving birth and all…

I was thinking that now that I am a full time artist, I might get tired of doing my art all the time.  I have some fellow artists that have said that they would never want their work to “become just a process”, so they avoid doing anything that would possibly make their art profitable, or marketable.  Hmmm.  Seems like it is already, though, isn’t it?  A process??

I’m going to go with the notion that there will be some days that I am kind of like the ‘mom’ of my work.  I will look at it and think, “gosh, how delightful!”, and other days I might think, “can someone take this thing away, please?”.  I’ve no doubt that it’s best to approach the inherent love of my art and all that it entails with the thought that there will be days that it just isn’t my thing.  I’m perfectly fine with this.  I don’t mind the process.  It just is.

When I get to see one of my sculptures again at my brother’s house, or another work that I’ve created at a friend’s house, I am renewed.  It is like visiting children of mine that have grown up and moved on.  I spend so much time with each piece, individually, that they *do* feel like extensions of me.  Myself.  My soul.

I think this is the cool part of making art and being an artist.  The connectivity to that which one creates. You can let it be of you and through you, but it doesn’t have to own you…

That’s enough for me…

One Response to “Child art??”

  1. Bravo!

    Keep on keepin’ on!

Leave a Reply

