Keeping the faith vs. the Big Black Art hole

May 24, 2010

What does it mean to “keep the faith?”  If you are keeping the faith in your art, are you believing it will sell, be appreciated, admired, or what??  How does one lessen the grip of judging one’s work by whether or not it sells?  At this point in my ‘career’, I really don’t need constant accolades or ego strokes.  I like my work.  Some of it I more than like.

I do find it interesting (for lack of a better word), however, that my efforts to sell my art in the Art Bazaar, on Cafe Press or on Etsy has opened up the creepy notion that if it doesn’t sell, it isn’t good enough somehow.

Today I’m in that yuck-o, wishy-washy place where all my efforts (and money) to produce more work feels like I am just feeding the Big Black Art hole.  I’m wondering why I think I’ll ever sell a piece.  I’m wondering what to do if I never sell another piece? Won’t I have an incredible amount of stuff?

My friend, Gerry, said that when he was in art school, he thought everyone should be making art.  Now that he works in an art gallery in Baltimore, he says he thinks people should quit making art.  He doesn’t think there is enough room for it all anymore.

I want to be honest with myself.  I’d love to sell tons of my work.  I’ll keep up and make more, I know.  I also know that I don’t want something I find so close to my very heart and soul to be just about the money.

2 Responses to “Keeping the faith vs. the Big Black Art hole”

  1. Lee said

    It is a very well-decorated black art hole; I love living in a house full of your work. Just my two cents’ worth… ❤

  2. Deirdre said

    My friend Don and I — both struggling from time to time with the same sense of creating for the void rather than humans — always sign our emails to each other, “Keep the faith.” Art, even if it doesn’t sell, is good for the soul…and to believe you have something worth sharing is the ultimate leap of faith!

Leave a Reply

